Tuesday 25th February 2020, 1 pm

We welcome Peter Symonds College Chamber Ensemble who will perform the following programme:

Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano FP43 – Francis Poulenc 1899 – 1963

This trio composed in 1926 is dedicated to Manuel de Falla.  Some critics consider it to be the first important work in Poulenc’s repertoire of chamber music because it intensely reflects the composer’s personality.

  1. Andante con moto
  2. Rondo

Oboe               Amélie Budd

Bassoon          Evie Selby

Piano               Samantha Carrasco

Trio in A minor Op.114 – Johannes Brahms1833 – 1897

This work was composed towards the end of Brahms’s life.  It was originally written for clarinet piano and cello, but the work can also be performed, as is done here, with a viola substituted for the clarinet.

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro

Viola                Jacob Hartley

Cello                Sam Booth

Piano               Samantha Carrasco


Recitals last approx 40 minutes. Admission is free. Donations welcome.